Spokane Valley Online
The Spokane Valley News Herald
City of Spokane Valley, WA
Primary challenges in two council races


Managing Editor


Two Spokane Valley City Council races will see primary election decisions in August as more candidates emerged late last week.
Sitting Council Members Rod Higgins and Pamela Haley face two and three challengers, respectively, for each of their positions. The top-two vote-getters in each race will move on to the general election.

Three other council members also have challengers, but those races won’t be decided until November.

Here’s a list of candidates who had filed as of last Friday:

Spokane Valley
Council Position 1: Chris Jackson, Al Merkel, Rod Higgins (incumbent)
Council Position 2: Brandi Peetz and Caleb Collier (incumbent)
Council Position 4: Ben Wick and Ed Pace (incumbent)
Council Position 5: Pamela Haley (incumbent), Robert (Rocky) Sampson, Angie Beem and Ingemar (Lloyd) Woods
Council Position 7: Linda Thompson and Mike Munch

Liberty Lake
Council Position 2: Hugh Severs (incumbent)
Council Position 4: Odin Langford (incumbent) and Jeanette Nail
Council Position 6: Mike Kennedy and Dylan Maguire

Council Position 1: Shawna Breese
Council Position 2: Daniel (Dan) Sander (incumbent)
Mayor: Kevin Freeman (incumbent) and Jay Molitor

Council Position 1: Melissa Lunsford and Angela Warner-Harvey
Council Position 2: Darcie Sainsbury (incumbent)
Mayor: Mayor KayDee Gilkey (incumbent) Derek Knecht

Council Position 1: Tim Fricke (incumbent)
Council Position 2: Brian Laude (incumbent)
Mayor: Carrie Roecks (incumbent

Central Valley School District
Director District 2: Tom Dingus (incumbent)
Director District 5: Mysti Reneau

Freeman School District
Director District 2: Edward Cashmere (incumbent)
Director District 4: Neil Fuchs Jr. (incumbent)

East Valley School District
Director District 3: Justin Voelker (incumbent) and Nathaniel Rooney
Director District 4: Emily Provecio and Fred Helms (incumbent)
Director District 5: Mike Novakovich (incumbent)

West Valley School District
Director District 1: Dan Hansen (incumbent) and Gerald Rosenbaum
Director District 2: Robert Dompier (incumbent) and Keith Acord
Director District 5: Pam McLeod (incumbent)

Spokane Valley Fire
Commissioner Positon 1: Patrick Burch and Stan Chalich
Commissioner Position 5: William “Bill” Anderson (incumbent) and Larry Rider

Fire District 8
Commissioner Position 3: Gregory A. (Spudd) Hesse

Fire District 9
Commissioner Position 1: Thomas McGarry (incumbent)

Print Advertising - contact:
Steve Barge
Account executive - Spokane Valley News Herald
Cell: 509-230-3355
Office: 509-924-2440
e-mail: vnh@onemain.com
TheSpokane Valley News Herald
is the City of Spokane Valley, Washington's official Newspaper. The City Council of the City of Spokane Valley, Washington named the Spokane Valley News Herald as the city's "official" newspaper. The designation means the Spokane Valley News Herald will publish the city's legal notices on a contract basis for one year.

E-mail: vnh@onemain.com
Phone: (509) 924-2440